Meridian Massage

Chinese Medicine

Holistic Living

Lung Meridian

The Lung meridian begins internally, in the stomach. This internal pathway connects with the large intestine, stomach, lungs and throat. The external Lung meridian pathway that we can contact begins on the upper chest, at the first Lung meridian point, Lung 1 (LU 1).

“The Lung is the advisor. It helps the Heart in regulating the body’s Qi.”
– Yellow Emperor’s Classic of Medicine

As you can see in the image, the Lung meridian travels from the upper chest, along the thumb side on the front (anterior) of the arm, all the way to the thumb. The last point on the Lung meridian is LU 11, found on the nail bed of the thumb.

Lung Meridian

Lung Meridian

The Heart and Lungs work together to circulate oxygen and blood throughout the body. In Chinese Medicine, energy is known as Qi (“chee”). As the Yellow Emperor’s Classic tells us, these two organs also circulate and regulate our body’s Qi.
One essential way to gather Qi is through the breath. Breathing is the function of the lungs that brings fresh Qi into the body, and expels the “used up” Qi.  The Lungs are therefore the key to gathering and dispersing Qi.

Famous Lung Point:

Lung 2, Yun Men, “Cloud Gate”

I use this point to support deep, clear, easy breathing. In practical terms, use this point to relieve coughs, stuffiness in the chest, and fatigue from battling a cold or flu.
LU 2 is also an important point in the practice of Qi Gong. To maintain proper alignment during Qi Gong movements, one key is to keep the “cloud gates” open. By feeling into this point and intending to open this area, we automatically broaden and open our shoulders. This opening allows for the smooth flow of Qi from the chest through the arms and hands.

How to locate Lung 2

Just beneath the collar bone (clavicle) near the shoulder, look for a little “dip” in the muscles. In the picture below, this dip is clearly seen on the model’s left side. I placed a dot on the right side to show the point location.

LU 2, Yun Men, "Cloud Gate"

LU 2, Yun Men, “Cloud Gate”

This dip between muscles stands out when you bring your arm directly in front of you, as in reaching out to shake a hand.
To continue learning, check out the “All About the Lung Meridian” video on demand.

Cindy Black

Cindy Black is the Founder of Big Tree School of Natural Healing and the author of Meridian Massage, Pathways to Vitality. She is appreciated for her ability to make the complex accessible, fun, and practical.


  1. Ashley Flores LAc on August 31, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I especially like to use Lung 2 for grief and depression, as many people dealing with sadness have a tendency to close the chest and curl forward. Great post.

    • Cindy Black, L.Ac. on September 1, 2013 at 11:08 am

      Thanks for adding in your experience Ashley!

  2. Errol Roelofsz on January 6, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    I need to use the best pressure points to relieve asthma, shortness of breat etc.

  3. Kelley Ireland on November 24, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    I love your explanations of the lung points. I have several people in my Qigong class that have COPD, cancer, and are in grief recovery from significant loss. I will be sure to incorporate the lung points in my classes now that I have learned about this from you. Thank you so much!

    • Cindy Black, L.Ac., LMT on November 25, 2015 at 8:11 am

      Wonderful – I would add extra attention to Lung 1 and 2 for those attending to these circumstances.
      Enjoy your explorations!

  4. Shelagh McPartland on May 17, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    Dear Cindy , thank-you so much for all your wonderful information. I live in Scotland , wish I could come and learn from you!. Bought your book x

    • Cindy Black, L.Ac., LMT on May 17, 2016 at 1:59 pm

      Hi Shelagh,
      If/when I make it to Scotland, I’ll let you know 🙂

  5. Genesis M. Roy, LMT, ISHA on May 19, 2016 at 9:57 pm

    Thank you Cindy … I have an affinity to the Lung Meridian after all the Breath is the fuel to all else, atleast I would say that because without the circulation of oxygen everything else is moot! 🙂

  6. linda hobart on March 25, 2017 at 5:13 pm

    I was amazed though not surprised to Learn about the thumb being part of the lung meridian.
    I have c.o.p.d., asthma, allergies, and all sorts of lung stuff! My thumbs hurt all the time. I’ve even resorted to corticosteroid shots, which actually do very little to help. Finding out they are the lung meridian sure explains why! What will help? Thanks

    • Cindy Black on March 26, 2017 at 8:19 am

      Hi Linda,
      I would work with an experienced Acupuncturist and/or Chinese medical herbalist, and Meridian Massage practitioner in your local area. Chinese medicine has a very different perspective on the Lungs than western medicine, and can offer many effective remedies.
      Here is a link to Meridian Massage Practitioners
      Directory for Acupuncturists:
      I always like a personal referral for health support, so ask people in your area for their recommendations.
      Thank you for writing, I hope you are able to connect with a local practitioner soon.

  7. […] Lung Meridian […]

  8. SYED ARIFF on July 13, 2018 at 9:41 pm

    Dear Cindy excellent explanation.your suggestions and advice is wonderfull.keepit up.Thank u lot. iam from present iam staying with my son and his familiy.i will return to my Land on sept.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.