Why Meridian Massage is a Holistic Approach to Health

12 Meridian diagram

Meridians are shown in Yin-Yang pairs according to the colors of their associated Element. At the center is the Taiji symbol of Yin and Yang. The order of Qi flow through the meridians begins at the Lung and goes clockwise around to the Liver, where the cycle of Qi flow begins again at the Lung meridian.


There are 12 meridians in Chinese Medicine.

Each meridian is part of the Organ System that it is named after. Each Organ System is a network of energy and manifestation. For every Organ System, we understand there is the physical organ itself, a season, color, taste, emotion, element, sense organ, body structure, sound, time of day and more. All of these aspects have “equal weight.”

Each of these Organ Systems and meridians are part of the greater organism that springs from an energetic center. That “energetic center” emerges from Yin and Yang, which were born from the Mysterious Undifferentiated Source of all life.

We trace our origin inward from the boundary of our skin, into the depths of our anatomy, into the pathways of Qi (energy) flowing in our Organ Systems, to our energetic center, to the Mysterious Undifferentiated Source of all life.

Meridian Massage, and Chinese Medicine upon which it is based, are a holistic approach to life and health. By connecting with the Qi in the meridians, we are able to touch into the web of our Body – Mind – Spirit.

Posted in

Cindy Black

Cindy Black is the Founder of Big Tree School of Natural Healing and the author of Meridian Massage, Pathways to Vitality. She is appreciated for her ability to make the complex accessible, fun, and practical.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.